Posted on in Riviera of Flowers, Tourist Routes
Photo by Leonardo Turrin

Photo by Leonardo Turrin

Dolceacqua is part of the Montana Intemelia. A mountain district of Liguria, in the province of Imperia, formed by the municipalities Airole, Apricale, Bajardo, Castel Vittorio, Dolceacqua, Isolabona, Olivetta San Michele, Perivale, Pigna, Rocchetta Nervina, San Biagio della Cima, Seborga, Soldano and Vallebona .

Dolceacqua, surrounded by greenery, only 5 km from the sea and Camping Helios is a typical medieval village of Val Nervia. One of the Ligurian villages in the proud possession of the “orange flag” of the Italian Touring Club. The oldest part of town is dominated by the castle. The ‘new town’ lies just across the river and the road and climbs up into the mountains.

One of the most extraordinary pictures of Liguria is the panoramic view of Dolceacqua with the old bridge, a span of only 33 meters of light, called a “jewel of light” by the Impressionist painter Claude Monet.

The city is also known for its wine: the “Rossese Dolceacqua” the first DOC wines of Liguria. Each year produced about 300,000 bottles and only half of it is for sale. It is a wine with a ruby red color and mild flavor, aromatic and sweet.


This post is also available in: Dutch German Italian Spanish

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Cookie consent wordpress plugin